menu Home

Steve Orchard – Listening for a Heartbeat


Available to pre-order as a duplicated CD and 16bit mp3, apple lossless and flac. Also available as True 24bit apple lossless and flac. Check out our CD plus free 16bit mp3, apple lossless or flac option. Release date 24th May 2021.

SKU: AD219CDr Category: Tags: , , ,

Demo Tracks and Info

Listening for a Heartbeat

Steve Orchard has a wonderfully relaxed style of acoustic and synth based, symphonic instrumental music that at times echoes the likes of Mike Oldfield, Tangerine Dream and Michel Rother while always maintaining an individuality that is clearly ‘Steve Orchard’.

‘Listening for a Heartbeat’ invites us to share another cosmic journey full of imaginative themes, rhythmic delights and strong orchestration, all underpinned with excellent guitar work and strong synth work.

There are great arrangements here, with occasional use of vocal textures adding a very classy layer on tracks like ‘Operetta’ and ‘Signal House’. But it is Steve’s excellent guitar work that deserves special mention because it is the understated way in which the guitar layers are incorporated into the music that enables his music to rise so far above similar music of the genre. Add that to the excellent synth work on tracks like, for example, the haunting opening section of ‘A Confidence In Heaven’, and you have a really classy offering.

There were also times on ‘Listening for a Heartbeat’ when we were reminded of some of the great synth album of the 1980’s, not just because of a few  musical similarities, but simply because of the feeling of adventure in listening to something new and different.

The artist himself thinks this album might be his best work to date…it’s difficult to disagree with that.

This album to pre-order as download or as a duplicated CD. Check out our FAQ page for more information. Release Date 24th May 2021

Shipping Costs for CDs

Delivery costs are weight based….

UK 1st Class

  • 1 CD £1.75
  • 2 CDs £1.95
  • 3 CDs £2.95
  • 4 or more CDs £3.95

Europe and Ireland – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £2.75
  • 2 CDs £3.75
  • 3 CDs £4.50
  • 4 CDs £5.50
  • 5 or more CDs £6.95

North and South America – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £6.95
  • 3 CDs £8.95
  • 4 CDs £10.95
  • 5 or more CDs £12.95

Rest of the World 1st Class Airmail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £5.95
  • 3 CDs £7.75
  • 4 CDs £8.75
  • 5 or more CDs £9.95

Our ‘time to ship’ from the placing of your order is “immediate to 48 hours”, dependent only on whether you place your order on a weekday or at the weekend. We deliver anywhere in the world; usually 2-5 days in the UK, 5-10 days to Europe and 7-10 for the USA and the rest of the world.


MP3 and Flac files are available for download immediately after payment. You will receive an email containing links to download the zip files.

If you have any issues downloading, please contact us and we’ll re-send the download links.

Note to iOS uses

Apple  iOS up to and including iOS 8 won’t download zip files in Safari. The easiest way around this is to download the zip files onto a computer and then open the zip and transfer the tracks into iTunes (just drag the folder onto the iTunes icon in the dock). Then sync the iOS device to iTunes in the normal way.

Alternatively, there are apps in the Apple App store that will open zip files directly on your iOS device (iPhone/iPad).


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Steve Orchard – Listening for a Heartbeat”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • cover play_circle_filled

    01. Chilled Naiad

play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down