menu Home

As I Hide


Available as a replicated CD and 16bit mp3 and flac. Check out our CD plus free 16bit mp3, apple lossless or flac option. Check out our FAQ page for more information.

Demo Tracks and Info

As I Hide

Spacey atmospherics, driving rhythms and searing guitar are complemented by beautiful synth compositions, all held together by mysterious and innovative vocoder. Ambient electronica at its best.

“This is a truly inventive and potent album which constantly challenges the listener yet still maintains a cohesive focus. On this form Witchcraft are a real find.” Graham Getty, SMD.

5 reviews for As I Hide

  1. Amazings.com

    In the current alternative musical panorama, there are bands and artists that have something new to say and others that don’t. Witchcraft no doubt belong to the former. From the precise instant of the beginning of the album, we witness a display of creative, sonic energy of a high degree. None of the themes included in the album goes to waste. Synthesizers and guitars, percussion and vocals, everything is aimed at a work that in some instances overwhelms the audience. As I Hide shows that electronic music has not abandoned the originality that characterized it in the beginning. Also magnificent is the album cover, which becomes a poster.

  2. Sonic Boom.com

    Witchcraft has taken some of the best elements from space rock, traditional industrial and ambient music and cast a spell upon their debut album. The end result is the creation of a fuzzy dreamlike atmosphere when experiencing the album in it’s totality from start to finish. Creative sound dispersion and sample alteration function brilliantly within a mesh of abstract percussion and sequencing that evoke a vibrant almost happy go lucky style of music. One might even go far as to suggest that they are developing an bubblegum style of pop music which just happens to utilize a large portion of non pop oriented musical techniques.

    Witchcraft unwrapped a fresh look into what has been an increasingly single facet ambient genre. Instead of focusing of exorbitant soundscapes and aural whitewashes, Witchcraft has tried to develop depth and change within their orchestration. A few of the tracks even have a lyrical accompaniment which accentuates the music as opposed to detracting from it as it would in a traditional ambient arrangement. If you’ve become bored with some of the more popular ambient artists perhaps you should give Witchcraft a chance to enlighten your palette and broaden your musical mind.

  3. Admin

    Review by Graham Getty, SMD.

    This is the debut CD from US band Witchcraft who are Andrew Arbetter on Guitar, and John Buehler on everything else including vocals. ‘Mindfire Wish’ is a provocative opener which juxtaposes heavy rhythmics with ambient synth touches and some impressive guitar work. Whispered speech adds another dimension to the sound. ‘Open Ways’ features a loping rhythm and treated vocals and is the type of track which doesn’t do that much yet leaves a lasting impression. ‘X-Position’ repeats the formula and adds pulsating sequences to the mix, and again it’s a thought provoking offering. The track fades into ‘Abstentia’ which presents some of the scariest effects and noises I’ve heard.

    Try listening to this with the lights out! ‘Return to Me’ serves strained vocals upon a bed of freshly tossed rhythmics and ambient effects. ‘Iridescent’ is a potent, almost disturbing, mixture of elements which again has massive presence and meaning. This is heavy, dark matter which will appeal to those whose tastes lean towards the Gothic, industrial, and supernatural. Now and again a track comes along which really grabs the imagination and cannot be ignored. ‘We Rest’ is such a track. Brilliant Vocoder vocals toy with latent synth layers as waves wash around the soundstage. It’s an absolutely fascinating piece of modern ambience which I’m sure will sound as fresh in 10 year’s time. Amazingly the blistering form continues with ‘Cathedral’ which is probably the most commercial piece on the album with superb rhythmics and sequences interplaying with fine guitar which is judged to perfection. The final track ‘Love on a Battleship’ opens with a drum roll, throws in some more of those scary effects then launches into an orgy of samples to end the album in real “off the wall” fashion. This is a truly inventive and potent album which constantly challenges the listener yet still maintains a cohesive focus. On this form Witchcraft are a real find.

  4. Steve Roberts, Sequences Magazine

    Another interesting addition to the increasingly eclectic AD Music Ltd label. “As I hide” is an unusual fusion of styles featuring John Buehler’s keyboards, drum machines and occasional vocals and Andrew Arbetter’s guitar. The overall sound is a heady mixture of strange and unsettling effects, electronic percussion and new age textures. Arbetter’s guitar gives the music a more organic feel and you have to credit an American band operating in territory well outside of the safe new age or minimalist doodlings so often associated with North American EM.
    “We Rest” is the closest they get but on other tracks they sound more like an avant garde electronic Sisters of Mercy without Eldritch’s blitzkrieg vocals. “Cathedral” will probably appeal most to Sequences readers; a cleverly structured instrumental. at times they tend to overdo the sound effects, as on “Love on a Battleship” but it’s good to have somebody trying something new! After a few listens, the minimalist electro-goth of the opening track “Mindfire Wish” is beginning to grow on me, as is “X-position” and “Iridescent”
    An intriguing release!

  5. Macromusica – Spain

    Realmente extrano el neuvo album de estos americanos, siempre asociados a un estilo de pop electronico vanguardista, bordeando lo industrial en ocasiones. Son 11 las composiciones de este album, siempre manteniendo una rar atmosfera irreal y hasta siniestra. Un disco quizas demasiado arriesgado para el publico tecno de estos tiempos.
    Macromusica – Spain 1997

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shipping Costs for CDs

Delivery costs are weight based….

UK 1st Class

  • 1 CD £1.75
  • 2 CDs £1.95
  • 3 CDs £2.95
  • 4 or more CDs £3.95

Europe and Ireland – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £2.75
  • 2 CDs £3.75
  • 3 CDs £4.50
  • 4 CDs £5.50
  • 5 or more CDs £6.95

North and South America – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £6.95
  • 3 CDs £8.95
  • 4 CDs £10.95
  • 5 or more CDs £12.95

Rest of the World 1st Class Airmail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £5.95
  • 3 CDs £7.75
  • 4 CDs £8.75
  • 5 or more CDs £9.95

Our ‘time to ship’ from the placing of your order is “immediate to 48 hours”, dependent only on whether you place your order on a weekday or at the weekend. We deliver anywhere in the world; usually 2-5 days in the UK, 5-10 days to Europe and 7-10 for the USA and the rest of the world.


MP3 and Flac files are available for download immediately after payment. You will receive an email containing links to download the zip files.

If you have any issues downloading, please contact us and we’ll re-send the download links.

Note to iOS uses

Apple  iOS up to and including iOS 8 won’t download zip files in Safari. The easiest way around this is to download the zip files onto a computer and then open the zip and transfer the tracks into iTunes (just drag the folder onto the iTunes icon in the dock). Then sync the iOS device to iTunes in the normal way.

Alternatively, there are apps in the Apple App store that will open zip files directly on your iOS device (iPhone/iPad).