menu Home

Vanguard 1


Available as a replicated CD and 16bit mp3, apple lossless and flac. Also available as True 24bit apple lossless and flac. Check out our CD plus free 16bit mp3, apple lossless or flac option. Check out our FAQ page for more information.


Demo Tracks and Info

‘Vanguard 1’ is the first major solo release by Andy Pickford since 2003 and a welcome return for the enigmatic UK synth maestro. As one of the most popular of the 1990’s UK ‘new wave’ of electronic music exponents, Andy Pickford’s music is characterised by strong rhythms and sequences, and above all, melodies and themes to die for!

To state that this album is a ‘stunning return’ would be a huge understatement – ‘Vanguard 1’ is mind blowing – a selection of 11 dynamic and expertly constructed, interlinked tracks that power into the senses like a juggernaut. Full of ideas and creativity, it’s utterly compelling!

As you’d expect the music is very melodic, with one memorable theme after the other demanding ‘repeat play’. Sequences and rhythms are tight, imaginative and contemporary, yet they don’t lose sight of Andy Pickford’s EM roots, even when flirting with the chill and electronica style vocal tracks that permeate this extraordinary album.

‘Vanguard 1’ is the first in a trilogy of releases planned on AD Music – with ‘2’ and ‘3’ already recorded. ‘Volume 2’ is scheduled for June 2016 release to coincide with Andy’s E-Scape 2016 appearance and ‘Volume 3’ will probably be released at the end of 2016.

The music featured on ‘Vanguard 1’ is beautifully produced and shows a maturity and expertise that will appeal to his existing fans and is sure to garner praise from the wider electronica/chill market.


2 reviews for Vanguard 1

  1. Progrésiste Electroprog magazine (verified owner)

    First of a trilogy, this album Andy takes us back to his very personal universe that blends progressive rock and electronic sounds dreamy. The transformed voices, sometimes solo, sometimes in chorus, are amazing and tinged with a certain melancholy. Andy compositions transport us from one world to the other hovering on webs of keyboards and guitar riffs marrying each other with equal and eternal happiness! It approaches a melodic structure as they were found in the total masterpiece that was (and remains) Lughnasad. Difficult to match this one, believe me. Brightstar is characterized by its melodic and ethereal vocals, directly followed by mechanical Quest all full of mystery. The pieces are linked in perfect homogeneity. It includes Opal, a tempo a little chill in the background that keeps an air frame and a mesmerizing hypnotic phrasing. Overall, it’s an album rather rhythmic and rich in creativity and innovative transcendental moments of serenity with its rolling arpeggios on a dreamy piano (Rainwashed). The highlight is surely the beautiful Vapor in the TD line with a hint of high symphonic frame colors and a keyboard game that kills. Just over nine minutes of ineffable beauty.
    My e-odds: 5/5.
    Progrésiste Electroprog magazine.

  2. kimhadley1

    OK for those that are interested, here are the Top 10 Albums for 2015 according to Soundscapes from Phoenix radio

    1. Andy Pickford – Vanguard 1
    2. Unified Past – Shifting the Equilibrium
    3. The Dreaming Tree – Silverfade
    4. Mystery – Delusion Rain
    5. John Hackett – Another Life
    6. Geof Whitely Project – Circus of Horrors
    7. Franck Carducci – Torn Apart
    8. Doris Brendel & Lee Dunham – Upside-down World
    9.= Lifesigns – Under the Bridge, Live in London,
    Threshold – European Journey
    10. Glacier – Ashes for the Monarch

    Paul B (Radio presenter of Soundscapes)

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shipping Costs for CDs

Delivery costs are weight based….

UK 1st Class

  • 1 CD £1.75
  • 2 CDs £1.95
  • 3 CDs £2.95
  • 4 or more CDs £3.95

Europe and Ireland – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £2.75
  • 2 CDs £3.75
  • 3 CDs £4.50
  • 4 CDs £5.50
  • 5 or more CDs £6.95

North and South America – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £6.95
  • 3 CDs £8.95
  • 4 CDs £10.95
  • 5 or more CDs £12.95

Rest of the World 1st Class Airmail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £5.95
  • 3 CDs £7.75
  • 4 CDs £8.75
  • 5 or more CDs £9.95

Our ‘time to ship’ from the placing of your order is “immediate to 48 hours”, dependent only on whether you place your order on a weekday or at the weekend. We deliver anywhere in the world; usually 2-5 days in the UK, 5-10 days to Europe and 7-10 for the USA and the rest of the world.


MP3 and Flac files are available for download immediately after payment. You will receive an email containing links to download the zip files.

If you have any issues downloading, please contact us and we’ll re-send the download links.

Note to iOS uses

Apple  iOS up to and including iOS 8 won’t download zip files in Safari. The easiest way around this is to download the zip files onto a computer and then open the zip and transfer the tracks into iTunes (just drag the folder onto the iTunes icon in the dock). Then sync the iOS device to iTunes in the normal way.

Alternatively, there are apps in the Apple App store that will open zip files directly on your iOS device (iPhone/iPad).