menu Home

A Sketchbook of Summer


Available as a duplicated CD and 16bit mp3 and flac. Check out our CD plus free 16bit mp3 or flac option. Check out our FAQ page for more information.


Demo Tracks and Info

A Sketchbook of Summer

Paul Sills continues his musical voyage with this delightful opus. While it may evoke a memory of summer on some tracks, often it treats us to what Paul does best. That is combining swirling synths, acoustic instruments and gentle percussion to great effect in a gently drifting style. In fact, it’s closer to his drifting space music than the title suggests.

Okay, so the layered soundscapes aren’t as dense as on previous outings, but the expertly crafted soundscapes are still very much in evidence, washing over the listener in gentle waves with deep pulsations and a gentle, delicate resonance.

There are some strong melodies and themes to be found here, but this really is an album about ‘mood and feel’, with highlights being ‘Into Dusk’ with its hypnotic layers, ‘Solstice’ that hints at classic Tangerine Dream, the evocative ‘Family Portrait’ and the stunning, gently moody and grandiose ‘Beach Theme 2’.

It all expertly bridges the new age and melodic electronic music divide, being strongly atmospheric and a little moody without ever being melancholy. And as always with Paul’s work, there is a deeply positive emotional undercurrent.

This album is available to download or as a duplicated CD on a slimline tray. Check out our FAQ page for more information.

1 review for A Sketchbook of Summer

  1. jude

    I am a bit fan of Paul Sills’ music. He has a unique style, immediately recognizable, even when he gives us something new. ‘A Sketchbook of Summer’ is in a slightly different style to previous albums. Warm, playful and very reminiscent of long summer days. Love it

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shipping Costs for CDs

Delivery costs are weight based….

UK 1st Class

  • 1 CD £1.75
  • 2 CDs £1.95
  • 3 CDs £2.95
  • 4 or more CDs £3.95

Europe and Ireland – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £2.75
  • 2 CDs £3.75
  • 3 CDs £4.50
  • 4 CDs £5.50
  • 5 or more CDs £6.95

North and South America – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £6.95
  • 3 CDs £8.95
  • 4 CDs £10.95
  • 5 or more CDs £12.95

Rest of the World 1st Class Airmail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £5.95
  • 3 CDs £7.75
  • 4 CDs £8.75
  • 5 or more CDs £9.95

Our ‘time to ship’ from the placing of your order is “immediate to 48 hours”, dependent only on whether you place your order on a weekday or at the weekend. We deliver anywhere in the world; usually 2-5 days in the UK, 5-10 days to Europe and 7-10 for the USA and the rest of the world.


MP3 and Flac files are available for download immediately after payment. You will receive an email containing links to download the zip files.

If you have any issues downloading, please contact us and we’ll re-send the download links.

Note to iOS uses

Apple  iOS up to and including iOS 8 won’t download zip files in Safari. The easiest way around this is to download the zip files onto a computer and then open the zip and transfer the tracks into iTunes (just drag the folder onto the iTunes icon in the dock). Then sync the iOS device to iTunes in the normal way.

Alternatively, there are apps in the Apple App store that will open zip files directly on your iOS device (iPhone/iPad).