menu Home

A Different Kind Of Normal


Available as a replicated CD and as 16bit mp3, flac and apple lossless. Also available as 24bit flac and apple lossless. Check out our CD plus free 16bit mp3 or flac option. Check out our FAQ page for more information.

Demo Tracks and Info

A Different Kind Of Normal

Carys is a singer songwriter with an enthusiastic and evocative stage presence. She displays a natural charm that has won her many admirers, not just within the folk scene, but also far beyond it. ‘A Different Kind Of Normal’ is her first solo album and it certainly reflects her wide musical scope. The album shines with its roots firmly in folk, but also dipping into rock, pop and even a little electronica.

The title describes Carys perfectly, because she has Asperger syndrome, and realised a long time ago that her mind has a unique way of producing some interesting songs. So it’s no surprise that ‘A Different Kind Of Normal’ is chocabloc full of varied and thought provoking lyrics and musical ideas covering several genres, but imbued with the unique musical and vocal style of Carys.

Most of the tracks on ‘A Different Kind Of Normal’ are self penned and the album features numerous guest musicians including Rick Kemp, Mike Briggs and Triangle, with David Wright adding his input on rhythms, keys/synths and strings.

Carys is a unique talent, beautifully interpreting her songs with a creative verve and enthusiasm that is sure to enchant, entrance and entertain in equal measure.

This album is available to download or as a factory pressed, replicated CD. Check out our FAQ page for more information.

4 reviews for A Different Kind Of Normal

  1. steve.orchard

    I’m loving this album….Carys sound is rooted in folk music but she expands & involves other themes & sounds into her intimate compositions…A strong & direct vocalist but with a warmth & fragility that will keep you pressing the play button again & again. I’m sure this will be an AD Music best seller xxx

  2. Joe Myers

    This is a beautiful album! So beautiful and thoughtful, and I am so thankful for everybody who helped behind the scenes to make this all possible! Such a sweet voice, and truly one of my favorites – Joe Myers (USA)

  3. Richard S.

    Every now and again an album comes along that surprises. and A Different Kind Of Normal by Carys is such an album. Some of you may have heard of UK folk singer Carys through her ambient vocal work with UK synthesist David Wright, in particular the 2017 album ‘Prophecy’.

    ‘A Different Kind Of Normal’ is Carys’s debut solo album, although she is joined by several guest musicians, including David Wright. The album has its feet firmly in folk rock territory, but it also ventures into prog rock with a little synth work thrown in for good measure.

    But A Different Kind Of Normal is about Cary’s wonderful voice and her excellent songs, and believe me, there are some great song on this album. From unaccompanied, like the opening ‘Sirens Call’, through nicely arranged plaintive ballads like ‘Welcome Home” to all out rock with ‘The Promise’. the album is full of surprises. The clever “13” in which Carys tells us, with wonderful lyricism, what it’s like to be in her head, and the clever ‘Streetlights’ and the epic progressive 10 minute ‘Apocalypse Dreams’, there is just so much on offer here to enjoy.

    What I like is the variety and also the fact that this really is an album that crosses folk, rock and progressive boundaries.

    Way to go Carys, I’m now a fan and look forward to the next album.

    Richard S. (via Amazon)

  4. Steve Sheppard

    The musical gifts that the release A Different Kind Of Normal by Carys offers are far reaching and deeply fascinating; this all-encompassing release has literally something for everyone. She is indeed well known on the folk circuit and this album has compositions that have their roots firmly established in that camp, but this collection of intriguing songs would find themselves homes in the new age and Celtic genres with ease.

    Carys has a unique voice, one that seems to float like a spirit on the misty waters of time, like the tracks Face the Raven and Siren Call, which have wonderfully deep energies about their constructions.

    The mystical mood continues with tracks like The Sentinel and the haunting The Piper, then the unpredictable nature of the album comes to the fore with more commercial pop offerings like 13, the lyrics really need to be listened to on this piece. Then we slide into the composition Sir Dominick’s Bargain where a truly sumptuous folk pop track can be found, and then my personal favourite, the almost light rock styled song Fountains of Hope, which contains some of the finest guitar you’re likely to hear.

    Carys’s style is unique and to finish with an almost 10 minute opus would seem at first to be ambitious, but once listened to intently, it is simply delightful to listen to and was in fact the great grandstand to leave the album with. Apocalypse Dreams is like the folk equivalent of Suppers Ready and Stairway to Heaven rolled into one and another absolute favourite of mine.

    A Different Kind Of Normal by Carys is an album filled with surprises, a beautiful production quality, with classy arrangements packed with thirteen fresh and exciting new songs that will be doorways to new dimensions of music that will fill you with wonders at every turn, inviting you into a realm of musical enchantment like never before.

    OWR Steve Sheppard

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shipping Costs for CDs

Delivery costs are weight based….

UK 1st Class

  • 1 CD £1.75
  • 2 CDs £1.95
  • 3 CDs £2.95
  • 4 or more CDs £3.95

Europe and Ireland – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £2.75
  • 2 CDs £3.75
  • 3 CDs £4.50
  • 4 CDs £5.50
  • 5 or more CDs £6.95

North and South America – 1st Class AirMail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £6.95
  • 3 CDs £8.95
  • 4 CDs £10.95
  • 5 or more CDs £12.95

Rest of the World 1st Class Airmail

  • 1 CD £4.75
  • 2 CDs £5.95
  • 3 CDs £7.75
  • 4 CDs £8.75
  • 5 or more CDs £9.95

Our ‘time to ship’ from the placing of your order is “immediate to 48 hours”, dependent only on whether you place your order on a weekday or at the weekend. We deliver anywhere in the world; usually 2-5 days in the UK, 5-10 days to Europe and 7-10 for the USA and the rest of the world.


MP3 and Flac files are available for download immediately after payment. You will receive an email containing links to download the zip files.

If you have any issues downloading, please contact us and we’ll re-send the download links.

Note to iOS uses

Apple  iOS up to and including iOS 8 won’t download zip files in Safari. The easiest way around this is to download the zip files onto a computer and then open the zip and transfer the tracks into iTunes (just drag the folder onto the iTunes icon in the dock). Then sync the iOS device to iTunes in the normal way.

Alternatively, there are apps in the Apple App store that will open zip files directly on your iOS device (iPhone/iPad).